Sir Michael Rocks – I Ain’t Never

Lap of Lux 1.5

Sir Michael Rocks dropped Lap of Lux 1.5 yesterday, the 8-track follow up to his mixtape a few months back.  The mixtape boasts appearances from Chance and Shorty K and production work from Harry Fraud and Cool Kids partner Chuck Inglish.  I have to admit – I listened through online before deciding whether or not to download this or not.  Once “I Ain’t Never” came up on the speakers, I furiously made moves for that download button.  Mikey goes in hard on the verses – “Born and raised, USA / This that patriotic dick, girl see I feed ’em tapes” – and the hook is just as hot – “I ain’t never love a ho and I ain’t love no bitch!”  Props to Cardo for the production on this one.

Also, be sure to check the Chi-town native’s video for “Reservations” that premiered today on MTVU.  I’m sure a video for “I Ain’t Never” is next on his to-do list.  Overall, 1.5 is a decent effort.  There’s a couple filler songs, but I dig “Too Late” and “F.B.A.G.”  Gotta give him props for even having the time to throw this together in the midst of a nationwide tour with Mac Miller. Free mixtape as always – download it here.

